forums
new posts
donate
UER Store
events
location db
db map
search
members
faq
terms of service
privacy policy
register
login




View with Side Frame!
Location DB > United States > Pennsylvania > Charming Forge > Charming Forge
 Name
Charming Forge
 Viewing Options
Log in to activate viewing options
 Database Info
created by Anonymous on 8/5/2005 3:00 AM
last modified by Anonymous on 3/2/2006 11:24 PM
 Viewability
Publically Viewable Publically Viewable
This location has been labeled by its creator as Public, and therefore can be viewed by anyone.
 Overview
 Description

 Basic Information
Type: Outdoors
Status: Abandoned
Accessibility: Easy
Recommendation: check it out if you're nearby
 Physical Information
Address
Charming Forge Rd
Charming Forge, Pennsylvania
United States
Owner: Unknown
  • See a map of this location
  •  Hazards
     Interesting Features

     Security Measures
  • wooden boarding
  •  Historical Dates
    Built: 0
    Closed: 0
     Required Equipment
     Recommended Equipment
    Camera & fishing pole
     History
    The Charming forge is situated on the southeastern border of Tulpehocken
    Township, on the Tulpehocken Creek, several miles north of Womelsdorf. It
    was erected by John George Nikoll, a hammersmith, and Michael Miller, in
    1749. Then, in pursuance of an agreement entered into shortly before, they,
    "at their joint expense, erected an Iron work or Forge and Dam, and dug a
    Race or water course and made other great improvements for the commencing of
    forging and the manufacturing of iron." After passing through several
    parties Henry William Stiegel was the owner in 1763. It was then known as
    the "Tulpehocken" forge. Then he sold an undivided half part of the forge
    property and of 859 acres of land to Charles Stedman and Alexander Stedman,
    merchants, of Philadelphia. By 1770 the quantity of land used in connection
    with the forge had increased beyond 3700 acres. In this year Charles Stedman
    bought his brother's interest in the forge property at sheriff's sale. In
    the sheriff's deed-poll to him the forge is called for the first time, in
    the title, "Charming Forge." It had been so known and commonly called for
    some years previously. Its name arose from the picturesque, charming
    locality. In 1773 the sheriff of the county sold Stiegel's undivided half
    interest in the forge property (then comprising 1291 acres) to Paul
    Zensinger, merchant, of Lancaster, for £1660. Zensinger, on the same day that he obtained the sheriff's deed-poll for the
    property, (9 February, 1774,) conveyed his interest to George Ege,
    iron-master, of York County, for £838 14s. 9d. Nine years afterward Ege
    bought Stedman's interest in the property for £1563 13s. 6d. From this time
    onward for nearly fifty years Mr. Ege was very prominently identified with
    the industrial life of Berks County. From 1791 to 1818 be was an associate
    judge. In 1804 be built and operated the "Schuylkill Forge," which was
    situated on the Little Schuylkill (Tamaqua Creek) a short distance north of
    Port Clinton. At this time he was doubtless the largest land holder in the
    county. His possessions then were: Charming Forge, with 4000 acres; Reading
    Furnace, with 6000 acres; Schuylkill Forge, with 6000 acres; also four large
    and valuable farms, situated in Heidelberg and Tulpehocken Townships,
    comprising together nearly a thousand acres, and known in the vicinity as
    the "Spring," "Sheaff," "Leiss," and "Richard" farms. In 1824 be was forced
    to make an assignment. His debts and expenses exceeded $300,000. But his
    estate proved entirely solvent. Through the prudent management of his
    estate, for a period covering fifteen years, by his acting assignee, Andrew
    Taylor, all the debts were satisfied, and a balance was left for
    distribution to his heirs. He died in December, 1830.

    This forge property then gassed through a number of parties until 1855, when
    it became vested in Andrew Taylor and his two sons, William and B. Franklin.
    In 1866 Mr. Taylor died, and his interest passed to the sons named by
    devise. They have since held and operated the forge. They own in connection
    with the forge about 3600 acres of land. Five-sixths of this large quantity
    lie in the Blue Mountain range. The land extends from "Round-Head"
    eastwardly, in an unbroken tract for seven miles.

    In 1777 Ege improved the property at the forge by the erection of a large,
    commodious, and conveniently arranged cut-stone, two-story mansion house. It
    is still standing, in fine order.

    About this time he hired from the Government thirty-four

    Page 70 Early Furnaces and Forges of Berks County, Penna.

    Hessian prisoners, for the purpose of butting a channel from twelve to
    fifteen feet deep, and two hundred and fifty feet long, through a bed of
    limestone in order to supply with water-power a "slitting mill" which he had
    erected. The channel is still used. November 5, 1782, he allowed the United
    States Government £1020 for their services.

    In 1780 he owned ten slaves, seven males and three females: certified of
    record in the prothonotary's office of the county.



     Media Coverage

     Future Plans

     Stories


    Add your own story
     Photo Galleries
    Click to view gallery
    Charming Forge

    posted by Anonymous
    22 pictures
     


    Add your own photos

    Mark all galleries as Seen
     Web Links

     Contribute

    Edit this Location
     Moderator Rating
    The moderator rating is a neutral rating of the content quality, photography, and coolness of this location.

    This location has not yet been rated by a moderator.
     Validation
    This location's validation is current. It was last validated by Emperor Wang on 4/13/2007 2:37 AM.

     Latest Changes
  • on Apr 13 07 at 2:37, Anonymous validated this location
  • on Apr 13 07 at 2:37, Anonymous updated gallery picture Charming Forge-14
  • on Apr 13 07 at 2:37, Anonymous deleted picture 118822 from gallery Charming Forge
  • on Apr 13 07 at 2:36, Anonymous deleted picture 118818 from gallery Charming Forge
  • on Mar 2 06 at 23:24, Anonymous changed the following: Web Links
  • on Aug 11 05 at 0:55, Anonymous made this location public
  • on Aug 5 05 at 3:46, Anonymous made this location available
  • on Aug 5 05 at 3:46, Anonymous changed the main information
  • on Aug 5 05 at 3:46, Anonymous changed the main information
  • on Aug 5 05 at 3:43, Anonymous updated basic gallery info
  •  Forum Threads about this Location
    New Thread
     Who's been looking?
    Click here to see who'se been looking.
     Report Problems
    Is this location inappropriate / broken / missing key info?
  • If it's something you can fix, please scroll up and click the EDIT button.
  • If this location was only posted a few days ago, give the creator time to work on it.
  • Please try sending a message directly to the creator of the location. You'll find that info at the top of this page.
  • Otherwise, ONLY if you've already tried to contact the original creator,: Click here to notify an administrator.



  • All content and images copyright 2002-2020 UER.CA and respective creators. Graphical Design by Crossfire.
    To contact webmaster, or click to email with problems or other questions about this site: UER CONTACT
    View Terms of Service | View Privacy Policy | Server colocation provided by Beanfield
    This page was generated for you in 140 milliseconds. Since June 23, 2002, a total of 621962874 pages have been generated.